Just bought a Catalina 22!

Apr 16, 2019
Catalina 22 Bellingham
So excited! My first boat...just wanted to share. 1988 Catalina 22 Wing Keel w/trailer & 8hp. I'm new to sailing and after a lot of thought, decided it best to start with a smaller boat to gain experience on first. Thought it was funny, as soon as the seller signed over the title to me at the registration office he said, "You just bought a black hole!" with a big grin on his face. Bring it on! :)
sailboat1.jpg
sailboat2.jpg
sailboat3.jpg

JRT

Feb 14, 2017
Catalina 310 211 Lake Guntersville, AL
Wing keel 22 with a trailer is pretty neat find. Have fun and keep a positive attitude.

Grotto

Feb 18, 2018
Catalina 22 Wilmington
Wow!!! Very nice. A C22 (new to owner) on this forum NOT in “she’ll need some TLC” 1000 hours of sanding and some “minor” repairs..... Inconceivable!

Sep 15, 2016
Catalina 22 Minnesota
Good looking boat and welcome to the forum. What hull # do you have? I too have a Wing keel and i love it. They are more stable and less maintenance than our swing keel friends. Looking at your pictures it appears that you have the upgraded rudder pintles and gudgeons but your motor mount may take a bit of tweaking to get it straight on the handle again. I did not see a mast crutch in the pictures but I highly recommend the telescoping version as it makes raising the mas so much easier. Also I hope the PO did not lose the ends of those turnbuckles on the mast down the road somewhere. In all it looks like a great boat and all boats are a black hole we put money into but then again so are vacations, DVD's, vehicles, and almost every other luxury in life so don't let that discourage you. Best thing to do is rig her up and get out there on the water. You'll figure out the tweaks you want to make along the way.