Would a Oceanis 393 be strong enough for circumnavigating?

Nov 20, 2018
Catalina 440 Almere
Hi all,

I consider buying a Beneteau Oceanis Clipper 393 (2001). From your experience, will this type of boat be capable of longer passages and even circumnavigating (‘milk run’) but also tough waters like North Sea and Bay of Biscay in Europe. Looking at construction, rigging, anchor winch, hatches/windows, behavior in strong wind/sea conditions, keel bolts, tank capacity etcetera.

If this is a right type of boat for me, what do I have to have a closer look at during inspection? What are the weak points?

B.t.w.: I am a former merchant navy officer, so I know to be prepared. And I know this is not a typical classic blue water boat, but trying to find the facts. Possible alternative is a Hunter 40.5, so comparison is interesting.

Not asking for guarantees (since nobody can give those), nor initiating a religious discussion, but looking for real experiences with this boat type.
Could you please help?

Many thanks in advance,
Hans van de Koppel
The Netherlands, Europe

Nov 1, 2017
Catalina 25 Sea Star Base Galveston, TX
@HansZelf ,

Good afternoon! People have circumnavigated the world in 30 foot boats; full length keels, bulletproof hull designs and thick, heavy rigging are often relied on to keep a vessel afloat in the harsh, undeterminable conditions the sea can inflict. The Oceanis 393 is a semi-performance bluewater cruiser that is properly equipped to offer sailors the style, comfort, and reliability that is necessary to complete a long journey.
PROS:
The 393 is very agile for her size, well equipped with lots of necessary navigational instruments and storage space for a long trip. The rig looks suitable for heavy weather, and the keel is deep enough to offer a decent amount of stability in case of a storm or gale.

CONS: