Just curious

oharag

Dec 6, 2018
NA NA PA
Hello. I'm a noob regarding sailing. I'm interested in purchasing a sailboat one of these days. I wanted to join this website to pick your brains if possible.

I have a perplexing question regarding sailboat sails.

I know what the main sail does (mid boat).
I know what a jib or genoa sail does (front of bow).
I know what a Spinnaker sail does (usually attached during sailing downwind).

I'm looking at sailboats, and I have seen some with another sail between the Main and jib/genoa that is on a furler. I'm going to try to attach some pics of what I'm asking about.

What is this third sail? Is it a Spinnaker sail ready to go??? I know Cutters Sailboats usually have three sails. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Jerry

Attachments

Jan 19, 2010
Hobie 16 & Rhodes 22 Skeeter Charleston
There can be several reasons for this second sail but the most common is the inner of the two headsails is your heavy wind sail. You put a reef in your main, roll up the big genoa and let out the smaller headsail.

Jan 11, 2014
Sabre 362 113 Fair Haven, NY
Usually it is called a staysail. It is useful in heavier wind or sometimes when on a broad reach along with the jib.

Becarefull, sailing can be addictive but it is a healthy addiction. :biggrin:

DArcy

Feb 11, 2017
Islander Freeport 36 Ottawa
Welcome aboard Jerry, and welcome to sailing!
What they said above about the staysail. Generally on any boat under about 40 feet the staysail is mostly useful for heavy weather sailing. Sometimes they are self tacking and people use them even in lighter air for upwind sailing so you don't have to haul a huge genoa (big jib) across.

Jan 11, 2014
Sometimes they are self tacking and people use them even in lighter air for upwind sailing so you don't have to haul a huge genoa (big jib) across.