Its that time again....

Oct 13, 2018
venture 222 georgia
I have recently purchased a 1971 Venture 222. This is my first attempt to sail, and restore a boat. I would appreciate ANY and ALL advice that I can get. I have purchased This Old Boat and Fix It and Sail It.
Rranger and Todd Atchinson have already been helpful! I am currently looking to attach a Hood Yacht Systems SeaFlex furler onto the mast and any help with what blocks, lines, line sizes, routing, boom set up, etc. would be helpful. I will post pictures ASAP....thanks, Jim

Feb 28, 2018
MacGregor 25 Orlando
Don’t know if you’ve seen this, but it would seem to be the installation manual for your furler. A quick perusal seems to be pretty detailed about what they expect the hardware to be and how to hook it up. Also, they do say that the biggest installation issue is the “halyard wrap.”

Good luck!

https://www.defender.com/pdf/613102.pdf

-Peter

Jan 25, 2017
Macgregor V222 Kentucky Lake
Jim,

I would say the YouTube suggestion is some good advice. I've seen a couple of models like that but, have no practical experience. You're gonna love a furling headsail. It's a game changer. I have a very old, very primitive furler and am pleased as punch. They are all very simple at their core. Think rolling shade.

Feb 28, 2018
MacGregor 25 Orlando
I’m with Todd : You’re gonna love that thing once you get it set up and going. If worse comes to worse, go to Blue Water and decide if it’s worth getting a new one - it’s like $600, but other than sail’s, likely the best $600 investment for new gear you can get for the boat. Or use the $600 number as motivation to get yours working!

http://shop.bwyachts.com/product-p/3601-110.htm

On the off chance you want to look at it!

Good luck!

-Peter

Jan 25, 2017