Anyone here know Rock Hall MD? (The town, not Dr. Hall.)

Feb 28, 2013
Pacific Seacraft 40 Belfast
We'll be moving from Maine back to Maryland (Chestertown) in a month or two. We'll probably want to keep the boat (Pacific Seacraft 40) in Rock Hall. There are a lot of marinas in that area. I'm seeking recommendations from anyone who knows the area..

Dec 1, 1999
Hunter 28.5 Chesapeake Bay
I'm curious as to why you would be moving to Chesterown? I'm familiar with the town (pretty quiet place...) and the area as I got my undergrad degree at Washington College there. Rock Hall is only a short drive from C'town and has some very good marinas. I really like Haven Harbour just north of the town. However, when leaving Rock Hall for the bay, you have to transit about 2 miles due south to clear Swan Pt bar. No big deal. A great area to sail/cruise from. You'll love it.

SG

Feb 11, 2017
J/Boat J/160 Annapolis
Chris,
There are several places is Rock Hall -- but I'd be concerned with your 6'+ draft. I wouldn't necessarily take the assurances of the marina operators. :^))) The wind blows from the North or a high pressure system sets in and the Bay water can drop another 18-24" in not a lot of time.

As for Rock Hall - Sailing Emporium is one place that I always liked. Be aware that the Willis', that own it, are in a Bankruptcy proceeding. Their marina was nicely laid-out; and, aside from business issues, Art and his wife were pretty decent when I knew them.

I'm not sure of the draft situation, but Haven Harbor is a great location.
https://marinas.com/view/marina/2gcx9q_Haven_Harbour_Marina_Rock_Hall_MD_United_States

Last edited:

SG

Feb 11, 2017
J/Boat J/160 Annapolis
We'll be moving from Maine back to Maryland (Chestertown) in a month or two.

I trust that means a "done deal" with you, Chris? If not, as Warren asks, why?

6'+ draft...aside from the the Eastern shore is bucolic.