Weather Helm/Lee Helm -What's The Diff?

Apr 16, 2017
Federation NCC-1701 Riverside
While simplistic, the Center of Effort of the sails (CE) is calculated by marking the intersection of two lines, both which leave the two leading edges of the sail and bisect the other side. If a boat has two sails, the combined CE is in the middle of the line (actually proportionally) that connects them. That we can adjust.
This is accurate geometrically, but cant possibly be useful for sailing. If it is, then i would say stop trying to sail sideways.

I am just a noob, but even when i sail downwind my rig never looks like that, especially compared to the hull.

The sail area should be viewed in terms of a projection from the perpective of the apparent wind. I also suspect that a top down view is better.

In the sketch you see that while pointing the sails are angled for best lift. The projection of apparent wind over the leading edges reduces the "sail area" to a sliver, especialky the jib, in addotion the center of effort for each sail moves backwards.

Note also that force is not applied equally to the sail area. The sketch shows shaded area that represent the lift. This average lift for the most part should be the CE for each sail. Note to that the lift pulls in a direction way different than wind blowing say a fence. The lift force is applied well forward of even the center of the projection.

The CE drawings in textbooks are junk. The best balance will come from the nth iteration of prototyping. I bet if you took a mini transat or most super high performance sail boats the CE textbooks are waaaay off on 2D side geometry versus holostic results.

Attachments

Nov 8, 2010
Beneteau First 36.7 & 260 Minneapolis MN & Bayfield WI
This is accurate geometrically, but cant possibly be useful for sailing. If it is, then i would say stop trying to sail sideways.

I am just a noob, but even when i sail downwind my rig never looks like that, especially compared to the hull.