should I take a Hunter 170?

Apr 19, 2018
Hunter 17 Holland, MI
I've been offered a Hunter 170 - for free - by a reliable source, a good friend in his 70s no longer wants to sail. He explained the cracking issue but that there are no leaks, it's sailworthy. He will include the trailer, sails and rigging are good. I'm new to sailing, live 1 mile from Lake Macatawa in Holland, Mi which connects to Lake MI, but I'd just drop in and sail Lake Mac. Should I take it?

Jun 8, 2004
Catalina 320 Dana Point
I'm not familiar with this boat or the "cracking" issue but it don't leak, is sailable, has a trailer, you live 1 mile from water, and it's almost summer.
Why not ? My first sailboat leaked.

Oct 19, 2017
O'Day 19 Littleton, NH
FREE!?!:yikes:
I don't know this boat, but nice:clap:
Should I take it?
:laugh::pray:o_O:eek::hook2::shhh::stupid:
Is that a serious question?
>OF COURSE YOU SHOULD TAKE IT!<
:thumbup:

That is, unless your worried that it will be in the way just in case someone offers to give you one of these

- Will (Dragonfly)

Apr 16, 2017
Federation NCC-1701 Riverside
Free boat , heck yea. Its lightwight so easy to tow. Very tender. You may or may not have a weighted centerboard.

That lake is comparable to lake manatee fl and some sections of the manatee river.

You be amazed how quickly you go from one side to another. Will there be alot of power boats going to the big water and back?

Oct 19, 2017
O'Day 19 Littleton, NH
Oh, BTW.
Welcome to sailboatowners forum.
I got distracted and forgot you were new here.
You are in for a treat now that you're part of the best fleet of sailors on the seven Internet seas.

- Will (Dragonfly)

Jun 9, 2004
Catalina 385 Marquette. Mi
Small boats make the sailor”. Peter Montgomery

I’ll never understand why first time sailors insist on 30+ ft boats.

But thats just me.......

Apr 16, 2017
Federation NCC-1701 Riverside
I don't know this boat, but nice