EPRIB TESTING

May 20, 2016
Catalina 36 MK1 94 Everett, WA
How many use 406link.com for testing their EPRIB. 40 or 60 dollar plans. Tested my unit for the first time and somehow led flashes don’t seem enough.

Les

May 20, 2016
Not to worry there it’s just there is no way of knowing the test worked other than some led’s flashing. I like closed loop systems. Wondering if it’s worth the cash. Plus according to manual the should be professionally tested once a year. Like that is ever going to happen.

Oct 22, 2014
CAL 35 Cruiser #21 moored EVERETT WA
The bad sailor (semi-professional tester) might trigger the unit then call in a false event.

It just makes sense that there would be a non costly way to test for function.

Feb 15, 2008
Hunter 49 Sydney
I have been cruising non stop for some 10 years. Mainly around the Pacific and Asia. I am one of those few people that test everything they possibly can, from automatic fire suppression systems, through DSC Distress, EPIRBS, auto activated PFD’s, Harness, Smoke detectors, Carbon monoxide detectors, etc. If its on my yacht I have FULLY tested it, with the exception of EPIRB. I have also followed up on a number incidents with the various accident investigation agencies in this part of the world (South Pacific Asia)