Is foam normal?

Apr 13, 2018
Catalina 22 San Diego
I just picked up hull 6954 (1975 vintage) and have begun her dismantle. There's what appears to be some closed cell foam in her port lazerette (under the cockpit) and more foam under the starboard lazerette. It this how the factory shipped the boat? I'd love to tear the foam out if its not structural. Advice?
1523664995814919099360.jpg
15236650414151138760236.jpg

Mar 20, 2015
C&C 30 Mk1 Winnipeg
It was added for floatation, not structure.
We see these every once in a while.
Not sure if anyone has the definitive answer as to if it is Catalina, Dealer or owners who did this.

Apr 13, 2018
Catalina 22 San Diego
Thanks LR! I'm no engineer but so long as there is air in those spaces her buoyancy will remain the same....if her mast side remains pointed skyward :thumbup:

SG

Feb 11, 2017
J/Boat J/160 Annapolis
Thanks LR! I'm no engineer but so long as there is air in those spaces her buoyancy will remain the same....if her mast side remains pointed skyward :thumbup:
Unfortunately, if a boat takes on water, the mast stay vertical (for a long while) as it sinks. I agree someone thought foam would help with buoyancy in the event of "a big problem.

May 23, 2016
Catalina 22 #12502 BSC
keep your laz lids secured and crib boards in place in rough conditions, you'll be floatin' with or without foam in the event of a knockdown...now if you get runover by a powerboat it may help some, but your boat will be toast anyway...

AND, with foam, there is limited space for the Lazarette (trunk) Monkeys to reside...cruel.

Last edited:
Nov 6, 2006
Hunter 34 Mandeville Louisiana
Back in the day, you could order positive flotation as an option .. many folks did .. more didn't..
offered some piece of mind for those heeling adverse folks.

Oct 19, 2017
O'Day 19 Littleton, NH