Saga continues: Muffler and stuffing box

Aug 24, 2016
Hunter 1981 Hunter 27 Saint Petersburg, Florida
In my previous post I was removing the old fuel tank and planning on installing new plastic tank. Got busy with work and 1 month later I'm finally trying to finish this project. While there decided to check on muffler and see if it had any holes in it. Ended up keeping it and replacing the old hoses with new ones: Pictures below.
While doing all this stuff and fighting with hoses in a tight space I noticed that the threaded portion of stuffing box was leaking once every 10 seconds. Now, I'm not a mechanic and I'm learning all this stuff as I go, so I have no idea if that is too much or normal. I know that it is supposed to leak and for some reason I thought that it is supposed to leak out of the clamped section to the right.
This leak drops right in the middle of the threaded section so I'm thinking the nut has to be tightened?
I looked on youtube to see if there is step by step on how to do that and which nut to turn and which direction. I was hoping since we all probably have similar setup to mine if anybody can tell me how to do it and if that is what needs to be done to make the leak slower? Or do I just leave it alone and proceed with my new fuel tank installation?

Attachments

Apr 22, 2011
Hunter 27 Pecan Grove, Oriental, NC
Your packing gland hose looks to be the original and should be replaced next time your on the hard. Check the bottom of the hose for moisture where it connects to the packing gland and where it connects to the stern tube. On my H27 the bronze stern tube had dezinctified where the hose is clamped on allowing water to seep in. Note the pink area in the pic.
20160306_114140.jpg
20160309_095756.jpg

May 27, 2004
Hunter 30_74-83 Ponce Inlet FL
Lets see if I can help. Looking at your stuffing box pic,
H27 Stuffing Box.jpg