Cherubini 30 ft Rigging Questions

Oct 22, 2014
CAL 35 Cruiser #21 moored EVERETT WA
@Mohawk Jack you got the right idea. @dLj recommendation is smack on. You can spend weeks at the dock servicing a marina queen or you can go sailing.
I keep a note book that I write down items that I think need to be serviced as I experience them sailing. Then once back home I sort through the list and prioritize them. “Safety first” down to “that might be fun”. Then dedicate the time to resolving the priority items. They all get done. And I get to sail.

Even if it is on a friends boat while mine is in the yard.

Jan 19, 2018
Hunter Cherubini 30 Cayuga Lake, NY
OK Sailors, I have another Rigging question about my Cherubini 30. I'm having the fiberglass repaired at the base of my mast and I'm wondering what these blocks are near the base of my mast. I'm new to sailboat ownership and not sure if I need these and if so what they are used for.
IMG_8228.JPG

Jun 5, 2010
Hunter 25 Burlington NJ
Ugh.

Those blocks serve one major purpose, and that is to wreak back and forth under load till the mounting holes work open, admit water, and contribute to the rot (or the rotting again) of the deck core. If I may appear knowledgeable and experienced at the risk of appearing also opinionated and arrogant, the halyard (and vang) turning blocks should NEVER be screwed into or through the deck structure in this area. The area is too vulnerable; and this is one way to totally destroy its structural integrity. Whenever I see these blocks bolted through the deck like this (especially when caulked with silicone!), it makes me want to go back into the fixing-deck-core-rot business at twice my old rate.