Hunter 260 - Better option than roller reefing jib in heavy wind?

Aug 6, 2017
Pearson 31-2 Atwood Lake
When I solo sailed my 260 in heavier fall weather I had issues of weather helm and also the jib sheets releasing from the cam cleat under heavy gusts. The more upward angle of the line leading to the clew of the jib and strong gusts would send the jib sheets flailing in 25+mph gusts, out of the cam cleat.

Has anyone attached a storm jib to the 260? I am still very new to all of this, but it seems the foresail staying closer to the center of the boat and at a more proper angle would be much preferred, I'm just not sure of what's possible since there's no inner stay. I know there are products like a storm bag, etc. but those seem a bit awkward to deploy in heavy wind as well. I am on a small lake at present, but I'd like to venture to Erie this season and want to be prepared for heavy wind should it come up.

Thanks!

Jul 7, 2004
Hunter 30T Cheney, KS
Your leeward jibsheet goes thru a fairlead, wraps around the winch and still comes out of the cleat? I'd try more wraps around the winch. If that doesn't do it, maybe your cleats are worn out. Just my $.02

Jun 2, 2004
Hunter 23.5 Calgary, Canada
Being a fractional rig, have you tried sailing on reefed main alone? We do it on H23.5 and H260.

Aug 6, 2017
Pearson 31-2 Atwood Lake
Your leeward jibsheet goes thru a fairlead, wraps around the winch and still comes out of the cleat? I'd try more wraps around the winch. If that doesn't do it, maybe your cleats are worn out. Just my $.02
Actually the fairlead and cleat is together, small Harken setup, and the winch is behind/beside the cleat (and is not self-tailing).

Last edited:
Aug 6, 2017
Pearson 31-2 Atwood Lake
Being a fractional rig, have you tried sailing on reefed main alone? We do it on H23.5 and H260.