Diesel Book for Rookie

Jul 6, 2017
Cal 2-29 Alameda
Hi all,
My last post was on having too many Captains on board. Your comments were great.
I'm One & One Half years into owning my first boat with two friends.
1975 Cal2-29 We are Sailing the S.F. Bay and one of my goals is to start doing some Coastal Sailing. Not yet though. I know we need more sea hours for sure.
In order to venture beyond the Bay I need to know our engine. Yanmar 2GM20F
I'm not a mechanic, I've changed oil, plugs, etc. on my car.

What Book would you recommend to me? I'm thinking of purchasing one of these three. Is there a better one?
Yanmar Inboards, 1975-98 (Seloc Marine Manuals)
Marine Diesel Engines: Maintenance, Troubleshooting, and Repair by Nigel Calder
Troubleshooting Marine Diesels by Peter Compton

thanks, Jeff

Jan 11, 2014
Sabre 362 113 Fair Haven, NY
Jan 4, 2006
Hunter 310 West Vancouver, B.C.
The ultimate combination is Yanmar Inboards, 1975-98 (Seloc Marine Manuals) as you've said, and the Yanmar shop manual (over $100.00 by now) but worth its weight in gold.

Yanmar Shop Manual.JPG

Nov 8, 2010
Beneteau First 36.7 & 260 Minneapolis MN & Bayfield WI
Last edited:
Nov 6, 2006
Hunter 34 Mandeville Louisiana
All above are good.. Nigel's book is pretty good.. The cheap way to go would be to click on "Owner Resources" in the Sailboat Owners front page, then click on "General Downloads" then scroll down to the Yanmar GM shop manual.. you can put that onto a flash drive for reference, or take that drive to someone like Kinko's and have them print the thing for ya. ? I dunno..
The thing that ya don't want to neglect is setting the valve clearance.. Probably has not been done in a while on that engine .. I don't know your engine, but that is a piece of maintenance that is normally overlooked on the old Yanmars..
Lots of other great info on that page:
https://sbo.sailboatowners.com/dl/downloads.php

May 12, 2004
Hunter Cherubini 30 New Port Richey