Beneteau 361 below deck autopilot options

Jan 3, 2018
Beneteau 361 Palmdale
Hello fellow sailors,

My wife and I have been sailing our Beneteau 361 "Stargazer" for about 15 months now and we love it. We have the model with the single aft starboard berth and he port side has the drop in equipment room.

We want to replace the existing wheel autopilot (which is annoyingly whiney and wanders in all sea states regardless of the tuning/sensitivity level settings). We have cable steering lines to the rudder and it is very tight down there. I've had three different installers look and they all agree there is no room to mount a direct drive linear system. The local Beneteau dealer agreed and told me to look at hydraulic systems. I'm having trouble navigating the specs and understanding how to adapt a hydraulic system to a mechanical steering setup.

I would love to know what autopilot options have worked for other Beneteau 361 owners?

Thanks for any advice and fair winds to you all.

Carl

Nov 23, 2009
Beneteau Oceanis 361 Clipper --
P1010749.jpg
P1010768 - Copy.jpg
P1010779.jpg
P1010785.jpg
P1010788.jpg
I have the 3 cabin version and I am using a linear type 1 raymarine autopilot. Like you the wheel pilot was very weak unlike the below deck which is great. I am sending some photos of the installation. A plate had to be made that was attached on the quadrant for the drive unit to push/pull. The drive unit was attached (with some wood reinforcement) on the back side of the "wall" of the aft port cabin.

May 17, 2004
Beneteau Oceanis 37 Havre de Grace
Our 37 came with a hydraulic linear drive.

The pump is in the aft lazarette. The steel backing plate is on the bulkhead where the ram is mounted. Not sure how the design of the 361 compares but this might give you some ideas.
IMG_0208.JPG
The ram attaches to an arm bolted to the rudder post just below the quadrant.
IMG_0217.JPG

DougM

Jul 24, 2005
Beneteau 323 Manistee, MI