Damage to stem of hull

Mar 16, 2015
none none n/a
Hey all. This is the boat i asked the question about the rudder replacement on. The survey also showed a hole in the stem over a void with moist to wet readings in the hull. The hammer soundings were solid with no signs of delamination, osmosis or blisters in/on the hull.

I'm just concerned because the hole is definitely below the water line and has allowed water to intrude into the layers between the hull. I know Hunter hulls are FRP and not cored with balsa. A friend had a drain put in at the keel on his Passage that he opens every summer when he hauls out in the Caribbean as he was told it's a good thing to do on older Hunters. I don't know as I'm new to Hunters **IF** I decide to buy this one.

Anyway, I plan to have another hull inspection done on the 10th with a fiberglass/poly vinyl guy on stand by to look more deeply into it.

I figure you guys would know the hulls of these Hunters better than most.
20171230_192209.png
Screenshot_20171231-112501.png
20171231_112638.png

Nov 6, 2006
Hunter 34 Mandeville Louisiana
Looks like she hit something hard and sharp.. Not a very big area, so not very hard to fix.. A good 'glass guy would do that for about a boat buck.. ($1000) give or take a bit.. glass in the hull not a problem, the tapering and fairing will open the holes up to good glass. .. what about interior ? did it get flooded?

Mar 16, 2015
none none n/a
Thats the thing. It didn't go all the way through. It seems there's a void in the hull material itself.

Nov 6, 2006
Hunter 34 Mandeville Louisiana