High Trust

Nov 10, 2017
Hunter Legend 260 Epidavros
I have read quite a lot on the pro's and con's of fitting a High Thrust prop to a standard engine. There seems to be a lot of different opinions so I have not really ended up with a conclusive answer. Have any of you guys got any first hand experience you could pass on please?
From previous posts you may gather that I have only just purchased the H260 and I have not used the boat yet so I have no experience of it's performance.
My engine is 2006 Yamaha 9.9 hp Long Shaft 2 stroke with what I believe to have the standard prop fitted (9 1/4 x 9 J). From what I can find here in the UK is a High Thrust (or Dual Thrust)
9 3/4 x 8 or 9 1/4 x 11. These are all three bladed props.

Jan 8, 2015
MacGregor 26S, Goman Express 30 Kerr Reservoir
[QUOTE="My engine is 2006 Yamaha 9.9 hp Long Shaft 2 stroke .[/QUOTE]

I have 9.9 Yamaha long shaft 4 stroke with the high thrust prop on a 26 foot boat. What I can report is that half throttle is all I ever use getting out of and into the marina. Great little engine.

Nov 10, 2017
Thank you for coming back to me, did you purchase as a HT or convert with a prop change? If I understand correctly the factory HT engine has a different gearbox.

Jan 8, 2015
MacGregor 26S, Goman Express 30 Kerr Reservoir
I bought the motor several years ago from a guy that hardly used it. I am quite certain it came factory with the HT prop since it is a T9.9.

Oct 19, 2017
O'Day 19 Littleton, NH
I don't know the answer to your question but a little context might help. I have a 19' mariner daysailer. They are often asking about the right engine size on the mariner web site. Most people have a 4-5hp motor but, the general consensus is that 2-2.5hp is enough. The mariner will collapse her transom with a 9.9hp. So, I would think you would have plenty of power with a 9.9hp on a 26' sailboat, no matter which prop.