Have Catalina 36 mkII circumnavigated the world?

Dec 5, 2017
catalina 36 mkII Florida
I am new to Catalina but when I saw them at the 2017 St. Pete boat show. I thought the quality was much better than a French Beneteau or Jenneau. ?? What are your thought about Circumnavigation with Catalina 36 early 2000's

Oct 22, 2014
CAL 35 Cruiser #21 moored EVERETT WA
@HinduKush At the outset, sailing around the world is more about the crew and how they set the boat up as it is about a boat you can buy at a marina. I come by this knowledge by extensive reading and coastal sailing. I have not circumnavigated the world. Maybe it will happen. It is a bucket list item.

That said. I provide you a resource. http://bluewaterboats.org/catalina-27/ I know it describes the Catalina 27 not the 36. The 27 is the grand father of the 36. Many of the design ideas are similar but on a grander scale. Guessign that you found the interior more appealing than the other boats mentioned. I sure find the interior a comfortable place to enjoy.

I suggest the idea of "Circumnavigation" is much more than a comparison of "early 2000" sail boats.

Oct 19, 2017
O'Day 19 Littleton, NH
sailing around the world is more about the crew and how they set the boat up as it is about a boat you can buy at a marina.
I agree and I also don't have circumnavigation experience although my father does and I use to live aboard with him. Taught me most of what I know. The biggest secret is planning and paying attention. Don't put yourself in a position where you HAVE to go NOW or the weather will surely go against you.
Know your boat, have spare parts and tools and be prepared for the weather to not do what you expect it to do.