Ed Schenck - Tragic bicycle accident, we lose one of our own

Johnb

Jan 22, 2008
Hunter 37-cutter Richmond CA
With a "sister ship" I had the benefit of Ed's wisdom and experience. He was a smart and helpful person.

Apr 29, 2016
Hunter 27 Atwood Lake, OH
I didn't know Ed very well, as I'm new to the Sailing Buckeye Yacht Club on Atwood Lake these past few years. The last time I ran into Ed was on good old F-Dock where we compared notes on Cherubini era Hunters. A great guy with plenty of time to talk sailing. He sailed Atwood and Erie, mostly Erie. He will be missed. My thoughts and prayers are with his family.

Phil Herring

Alien
Mar 25, 1997
- - Bainbridge Island
Just saw this thread, terribly sad. Ed was a great guy and one of the _very_ first owners here. He'll be missed.

Nov 8, 2007
Hunter 27_75-84 Sandusky Harbor Marina, Ohio
I met Ed at the Cleveland Boat Show, but our real relationship was our love of the Cherubini Hunters. My dream was to own Ed’s 37c. I don’t know of a boat in better shape.

I pray for Ed’s Family, and for us! We will all miss him.

Jun 21, 2007
Hunter Cherubini 36_80-82 Sausalito / San Francisco Bay
Terrible to learn of Ed's death. Joining SBO in 2007, soon after the purchase of my 1980 Cherubini Hunter 36 (the one foot shorter "little sister" of Ed's Cherubini Hunter 37), I often would encounter Ed's useful posts. And he readily chimed in to assist my newbie me to get a handle on my projects.

He will be missed on the Cherubini forum. Undoubtedly he will missed much more by his real life friends and family.

The circumstances of Ed's death hit very close to home for me. As with Alan12210 and also Bob R, I too came within hair's breadth of duplicating the outcome of Ed's bicycle accident. From the description in the CantonRep.com Article that Rich Stidger included with his opening post, the circumstances were very similar.