Soft Foredeck

Nov 8, 2010
Beneteau First 36.7 & 260 Minneapolis MN & Bayfield WI
@Swiplash and @Love and Luck
Both you guys are total noobies, so I'll cut you some slack and give you some advice. Old boats come in all state of repair; good to basket-case. The difference in price is usually much less then what someone would invest in time and money to bring a bad one up to scratch. That assumes someone knowing what they are doing, and doing it right. With all respect, that does not seem to be the case here, based on the questions you are asking and the solutions you are proposing. Your money/time your choice, but I'd suggest that you listen to some of the advice here, and maybe look for a better boat.

In any case, don't get wound up when people suggest that; its probably the best course of action.

JRT

Feb 14, 2017
Catalina 310 211 Lake Guntersville, AL
With a soft core the through bolts will eventually compress the deck and crack it, plus the bolts will show and add anouther leak path.

If she is free or really cheap sounds like a deal. All that work to try and make nice looking I'd cut the headliner out, you wouldn't see it anyway and could be covered with a headliner and look nice. Still I've seen O'day 25 and 26 listed with trailers in the 4-7k range you could consider.

I'm a new owner and I would recommend listening to Jack and CB

Sep 25, 2016
Oday 22 Lake Arthur
@Swiplash and @Love and Luck