Considering buying Yamaha 30-2

Jan 31, 2017
Yamaha 30' Sidney
Hi guys,
I am seriously considering buying Yamaha 30 tall rig. It would be my first boat. I'm hoping to be able to do some long distance racing and maybe some beercan racing. I have 8 years of racing experience sailing Sonar 23. Yamaha looks like a sound boat and seem to be perfect for my needs for cruising. My concern is, how competitive is Y30 design? (Having a heavy inboard and a fuel tank in a bow...) I appreciate your input.

Mar 2, 2008
Cal 25 mk II T-Bird Marina, West Vancouver
My marina neighbour is a 1982 Yamaha 30 that he bought new and is very pleased with it. She has the same Yanmar YSM12 motor that I have in my CAL. I would not worry about the motor being in the bow, the hull is designed for that. They changed the design in the later 1980s and moved the motor to the traditional rear location. I’m told Yamaha sailboats have a very good reputation for both quality of build and sailing ability. If I was looking for a newer boat, I would have a look at these local boats:

http://www.thunderbirdmarine.com/boat-info.php?ID=4400 http://www.thunderbirdmarine.com/boat-info.php?ID=4337

Depending on your size and budget desires it may be worth while to look at this one:

http://www.thunderbirdmarine.com/boat-info.php?ID=4426

Remember that the cost of ownership goes up exponentially with the length. i.e. Marina moorage, maintenance, sails, hardware, insurance, etc.

Last edited:
Jul 9, 2004
Yamaha 30 - Sidney
I have a Yamaha 30 Tall Rig, in Sidney at Westport. The fellow I bought it from in Seattle used to race it and I understand it did fine.
But me, I don't race so I don't really know how well it does beer canning.
I mostly single hand daysail & cruise, though the girlfriend will come along when her schedule allows.