Florida Craziness

Nov 22, 2008
Endeavour 32 Portland, Maine
Long time readers may remember the post from my now archived forum which went spectacularly over the top in view count at 30,708. The title was. “I’ll Never Go To Florida Again.”

http://forums.sbo.sailboatowners.com/showthread.php?t=148671&#post990210

(BTW the archived forum of my previous adventures, resorted into chronological order for easier reading, can be bound here: http://forums.sbo.sailboatowners.com/forumdisplay.php?f=142. Numerous pictures have disappeared but I hope to get the links restored someday.)

Now that I have crew and can consider doing much of the coast offshore, going to Florida seems more attractive. Dreameagle is also more interested than I am in getting to warmer waters and, as we all know, it isn’t a happy ship if the crew isn’t happy.

My problem is that I am a resident of Maine which does not independently register vessels with Federal Documentation. For an excellent rundown on the issue, see this article by my friend John Kettelwell who many may know from his excellent ICW chartbook.

http://www.oceannavigator.com/May-June-2013/A-fog-of-regulation/