Sailing the Cat 22 in open waters

Status
Not open for further replies.
H

H.M.

I recently attended a small boat show. One of the vendors and I got into a conversation about the inability of the Catalina 22 to sustain safe sailing in any real salt water environment. Kind of curious if anyone out there could share their adventures of sailing off the coast or even inside?

G

greg

What if?

I sail a 1979 Catalina 22 and I am new to sailing. Last weekend I was sailing in Biscayne Bay Florida and it was absolutely beautiful. I was going maybe 3 knots under jib alone (too lazy to put up the main by myself) and the little boat was happily bouncing along as the bay was "pleasantly" choppy. Several times the li'l boat bounced down hard after coming off a wave. No harm done and it was fun....but... What if the 550# keel kept going down when the boat was rising on the next wave? Having read some of the previous posts, I am under the impression that the heads of the keel boats will snap off without warning and certainly many bolts have sheared off when the boat owner tried to remove them for inspection. Also, older production boats, like mine, have the straight through hull fittings held tenuously by a glass/epoxy bond! Certainly, if you try to turn the valves attached to these through hulls without a backup wrench in place, the glass/epoxy bond will shear. The absolute minimum is a annoying leak. I have read (not sure where) about a scary scenario that sank a Cat 22. The risk of through hull failure from the toilet inlet and/or discharge pipes when the boat slams down off a wave is very possible. The force of air compressed in the through hull pipe could be enough to break free the pipe from its epoxy bond (since there is no flange). Water comes in fast and boat sinks. If you were to get caught in some moderate seas off the coast, the forces on a Cat 22 swing keel system might be magnified enough to cause a failure. Likewise for unflanged through hull fittings. These are ju