Rudder crack

mbefus

Apr 21, 2024
S2 11.0A Muskegon, Michigan
Hello everybody. Brand new S2 owner here. Picked up an ‘81 11.0A at the end of last season and got in a little bit of sailing before season end.

I’ve got a small crack starting on the rudder and I’d like to tackle the repair myself, but wondering if that’s advisable as I’m not sure how deep the damage goes. I was hoping perhaps others who have done the same repair might be able to advise. I should also add, I’m new to larger keelboats and new to working on fiberglass, so appreciate any advice you can give
IMG_4994.png

Jan 1, 2006
Slickcraft 26 Sailfish
I'm surprised there hasn't been more response. I suspect a lot of members are engaged in preparing their own boats for launch.
The location of the crack is more disturbing than the crack itself. That being the area where the internal flag of metal structure is welded to the rudder post. That weld may have failed. While that is repairable it very likely eat well into your season - especially if you are new to that kind of work.
In addition the foam inside the rudder is most likely wet. That is normally dealt with by removing the skin on one side of the rudder, inspecting/replacing the foam, and re-glassing over the repair. Search the archives for details and pictures.
I would be looking at buying a new rudder. It will be an expense (A big one) but it will the fastest way to get the season going. I would not be comfortable sailing the boat with the rudder in that condition.
Foss Foam made a lot of rudders for the sailing industry.

dmax

Jul 29, 2018
O'Day 35 Buzzards Bay
Yes - first thing would be to get the rudder off the boat to make it easier to work on and then cut out the skin around the crack to see what you're up against. Check out this video for a complete rebuild of a rudder:

mbefus

Apr 21, 2024
S2 11.0A Muskegon, Michigan