Another Legend 40.5 holding tank replacement 3.26.24

Jan 7, 2022
Hunter 40.5 Maryland Marina
I have been putting this project off for three years now. The only original problem was the failure of the macerator pump (which can't be used on the Chesapeake anyhow) and resulting leakage. The pump was removed and all offending tubes were closed off. The original tank did not leak, but it looks like it was damaged by implosion and pumped back up due to a clogged vent (note picture). I learned about this problem on the forum....after I bought the boat. The vent was clogged by the outside screen and debris. Once this was opened the tank emptied/vented properly. It might be leaking now or the tubing is permeated. Either way it is time to replace everything. I am inclined not to replace/plumb for the macerator. Most of the other "fun" jobs are done...I told my wife I prefer "preventive maintenance" to a catastrophic repair.

I have read the other threads numerous times, but I would like to condense the information here:

1) Replacement tank from Triple "M" plastics.
a) Have them make a 1 inch vent.
b) Where do I get new fittings and their sizes? These are threaded in?
d) Tank sensor to coordinate with Raymarine?

2) Use Raritan Saniflex
a) Length from forward head 19 feet. Use old hose fastened as described to pull lubricated new hose back to tank.
b) So what size and total amount for forward head, saloon head, pump out and vent?
c) How to access vent and deck and new fittings? Looks like a major pain.

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Of course since I have the cabin sole out I happened to check the port and starboard water tanks. They look pretty scummy. Method for cleaning tanks without removing the entire lids? Spray or sponge into them or use pressure washer on low?

Attachments

Rick D

Jun 14, 2008
Hunter Legend 40.5 Shoreline Marina Long Beach CA