Tidal Grid?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Nov 11, 2011
Catalina 30 Sitka
Hey,

First, a quick intro - I'm a newbie sailor and have been stalking the boards the last 9 months or so - have already learned tons here and appreciate all the knowledge floating around these parts. I live in San Francisco, but somewhat inadvertly came into ownership of a 1976 30' Catalina in Sitka, Alaska last year. She'd been fairly neglected by the PO, whom I won't malign too much since he's my dad, and I'm working on getting her in good shape again. Its complicated by the thousand miles that separate us. I pent 15 long days working on her last summer - from replacing all the running rigging to rebuilding the head to long hours on the fickle M4-30 engine. But, finally got it running, left the harbor, raised the the sailsl and had the most thrilling experience of my life- heading out under sail at 6 knots on my own boat, watching whales go by, and anchoring overnight in sight of bears on shore. Needless to say, I'm hooked.

I'm heading back up in about a month, and have a long list of work. I'm a student working on my Masters, so trying to save pennies on a boat that I don't even live near. I need to haul her this summer and clean/paint the bottom, as well as just check out the general state of neglect below the waterline. There is a haul out facility, only game in town, so prices are high and scheduling is hard, but there is also a free tidal grid, which I'm strongly considering using. Wondering if anyone has any experience putting one of our boats on the grid? I assume the keel can take it- any problems with balancing, etc? The tidal range is high enough to make it a useful and attractive idea, but I also have images of the entire boat falling over, destroying itself and causing great amusement for the local fishermen.

Your thoughts?

-Dan