Texas to Florida - new sailor

Mar 27, 2016
Hunter 31 Rockport, TX
I'm fairly new to sailing. Have sailed on a Colgate 26 and a Catalina 25 on a local lake but no experience on the ocean other than as a passenger on dive boats. I plan on looking at a boat in Texas next week down by Corpus Christi and if it checks out okay, it may be my new home. My goal is to get it to the keys and Bahamas single handing it.

The boat is a 31' Hunter that's been well cared for and upgraded with all new, heavier standing and running rigging that was professionally installed, updated electronics, etc. I've spoken with the owner a couple of times on the phone and found out he's retired Air Force and everything he and his son, a mechanical engineer, did to the boat was as though he'd keep it the rest of his life. Old age and health issues have led him to put her up for sale. I've heard all of the negative feedback on Hunters so not interested in that. Given my limited experience and knowledge of the sea, how should I approach this?

May 12, 2004
Hunter Cherubini 30 New Port Richey
If you do buy this boat, take some time getting to know her before attempting to make the crossing. You can stay pretty close to shore from TX to the panhandle of FL but then you are going to be offshore for about 225 nm til you get to my area which is Tarpon Springs/Clearwater and will be the first place you can safely put in due to your draft. Do your homework. This forum was a great place to start. I think this might be a fairly long thread. Stay tuned.

HMT2

Mar 20, 2014
Hunter 31 828 Shoreacres, TX
What year is it? I have an '83 H31 and I love it. Also, I live in Houston (Corpus is just around the corner) and would be happy to help or share what I know.

Mar 27, 2016
Hunter 31 Rockport, TX
The boat is a 1987. This is the write up on it.

• 1987 Hunter 31 sloop with fixed keel, 3 very good sails including a main, jib, and racing genoa.
  • USA Documented and Texas registration