Shroud connection question

Jan 13, 2017
Hunter 23.5 Panama City, Florida
First off, thanks for having me on this forum. I recently purchased a Hunter 23.5 and have sailed four of five times. This is my first post, although I've been trolling around the forum soaking up info. My question is: Looking at the pictures posted, is this normal? My shroud cables and associated hardware seems to have deformed the structure of my sailboat. If not not normal, can it be repaired?
0117171130a_resized.jpg
0117171130a_resized.jpg 0117171130_resized.jpg 0117171130a_resized.jpg 0117171130_resized.jpg

Kermit

Jul 31, 2010
AquaCat 12.5 17342 Wateree Lake, SC
Welcome to the forum and to sailing. You may have figured out from reading posts that @Crazy Dave Condon is the resident trailerable Hunter sailboat guru. I have my own opinion about what I see in your pictures but I'm not an expert on anything sailboat-related. Except maybe how to make a simple, inexpensive repair complicated and expensive by doing it myself. Again, welcome to the forum.

Jun 8, 2004
-na -NA Anywhere USA
There are two areas causing this. It could be the tune of the rig is so tight which is not needed could be the primary answer. Take a picture with the rig up and let's see as I am curious. The second is the bar under the rub rail may not be as long. Take a picture of that and we can go from there.

Jan 13, 2017
Thank you for the welcome, Kermit. Thanks Crazy Dave for the reply. Wow, I feel like I've had an encounter with royalty actually getting a response from the one and only Dave Condon. I'll take more pictures at lunch time and get them posted. I'm hoping this is a simple fix as I've already fallen in love with my new (to me) hunter. At the same time, I would not want my rigging to snap off the boat in a hard wind.

Fred

Sep 27, 2008
Catalina 28 mkii 745 Ottawa, Ontario, CA