Sailing DDW, poled out ...

Sep 30, 2013
1988 Catalina 22 North Florida
How much belly do you want, if any, in a poled out jib or Genoa running DDW, or nearly DDW? And what is the ideal placement of the clew, fore-and-aft?

My experimentation with these factors have not made much difference in boat speed, but I keep meaning to ask the experts about it anyway.

Jul 20, 2005
Whitby 55 Kemah, Tx
IMHO (I am no expert), You don't want it flat. You want some curve to it. How much depends on the angle of the sail to the wind and speed of wind. The more perpendicular to the wind the less curve you want as the wind speed around the backside decreases. As to what angle you set (clew location) I think depends on the wind strength and angle. I try to get the max pull area of the sail pointing as much forward as I can. I just have a 105 jib so I need 15 knots true wind to go DDW with just the jib poled out to make 5 knots. A little off DDW (like awa of 160) I pole the jib to windward and set the main to leeward with boom preventer tight. This works great on up to awa of 135 and is fast. I can't go DDW wing and wing due to my 30 degree swept back spreaders.

Most sailors do not like DDW but I like it a lot. A lot of gentle rolling but it is easy on the boat. I've never been in a situation where it would be dangerous though - just max of 10 foot waves.

Jan 19, 2010
Hobie 16 & Rhodes 22 Skeeter Charleston
My crew (daughters) love sailing wing-and-wing, "just point the end of the tiller towards the sail that is collapsing .... anyway, it keeps them occupied. On our lake, the wind shifts constantly so it is a lot of work.

Nov 8, 2010
Beneteau First 36.7 & 260 Minneapolis MN & Bayfield WI
Its a great question.