Multimeters

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bob S

Sep 27, 2007
Beneteau 393 New Bedford, MA
I am going to buy a multimeter for my boat. Any recommendation? Any features I should be looking for? I know I want a digital true RMS meter.
What display count; voltage AC/DC; AC/DC Current? I'd like to get the best meter I can trying not to spend more than $200.00.

Thanks
Bob

376hunter

Meter

I am going to buy a multimeter for my boat. Any recommendation? Any features I should be looking for? I know I want a digital true RMS meter.
What display count; voltage AC/DC; AC/DC Current? I'd like to get the best meter I can trying not to spend more than $200.00.

Thanks
Bob
As an electrician, I would buy a Fluke. Get one with a clamp on amp meter. You don't want to have to disconnect cables to put your meter in sieries with the load.

Ross

Jun 15, 2004
Islander/Wayfairer 30 sail number 25 Perryville,Md.
As an electrician, I would buy a Fluke. Get one with a clamp on amp meter. You don't want to have to disconnect cables to put your meter in sieries with the load.
Do they make a DC clamp-on amp meter?
Automatic off and max hold are nice features.

n624ma

Jan 27, 2007
Hunter 33_77-83 Groton Ct
Bob,
If this is a meter to keep on the boat I would recommend a reasonably (under $75.00) inexpensive unit. Get a 3 1/2 digit meter with a 10 amp dc range, look for a "zero-able" ohmmeter and enjoy. I wouldn't hesitate to stop at Radio Shack and check their selection. I this is a first meter go cheap and get a better one later if you find you need it.

In a past life I was an Avionics Tech (Aircraft Electronics) and my "Boat Meter" is a $9.95 Cen-tech. Most of what I do on the water only needs a Yes-No level of meter reading, do I have any voltage, is the fuse open, is the wire connected, etc. For serious work I bring the multi-hundred dollar Fluke from home and keep it away from salt water the rest of the time

Hope this helps

Feb 6, 1998
Canadian Sailcraft 36T Casco Bay, ME