How to lift boat off of trailer

Status
Not open for further replies.
Oct 11, 2008
Watkins 23 Acworth
I have a Watkinis 23 swing keel sitting on a tandem axle trailer. I just bought the boat a week ago. The trailer is in need of bunk replacement and support repairs. The boat is not sitting straight on the trailer. I believe the watkins site says the boat wieghs 2500 pounds.

How would i go about lifting one side at a time without damaging the boat or myself to replace bunks and make adjustments to them or raise the whole boat? I am new to this so please bear with me.

Thanks,
Barry

Dec 23, 2007
catalina catalina22 lake tillery NC
float the boat

When I had to do mine I moored the boat for a day in our lake, this is the easiest method I can think of and cost effective. Alan

BenDi

Sep 26, 2008
Hunter 22 Sacandaga Lake, NY
We just this week had the same problem with our Hunter 22 but fortunately it was parked at a marina. The marina let us use their sailboat tri-pod jack stands. Stratigically place them at four or more places on the hull and crank them uniformly at the same time till the boat is off the trailer. The real tricky part comes when you back the trailer back under the boat. Check with your local marinas to see if you can rent or borrow the stands. Good Luck.

Jan 22, 2008
Macgregor 22 Marina Del Rey, CA CA
Just lower the front of the trailer as much as possible, then block the back of the boat solidly. Now raise the front of the trailer as high as possible and block the front of the boat. If this is not high enough do the same thing again (leaving the boat blocked up) and re-block higher if possible. You won't be able to remove the trailer but you can work on the trailer ie. paint it, replace bunkers, etc. Good luck. and be sure to have the boat blocked securely before you work under it.
Duane "Novelman"

Jenni

May 24, 2007
Macgregor 26D Port Hope, ON
i imagine