2003 Hunter 356 AC panel question

• Thread starter Former member 134612
  • Start date
F

Former member 134612

As a newbie, I'm hoping you'll be gentle! This boat is new to me. Today I was running my NextGen generator to charge up batteries while on the hook (ProCharge Ultra by Sterling), and I noted a change in pitch in the gen. I went below and discovered the charger was off, then noticed the entire AC panel was dead. No breakers had tripped. I shut down the genset and allowed everything to cool down, then tried again, but still no life in the AC panel. I assume I've tripped a breaker or blown a fuse, but can't find anything physically or in the owners manual. Is there anyone who could offer an idea, before I go off and find an electrician?

Nov 6, 2006
Hunter 34 Mandeville Louisiana
Neither breaker on gen set (inside sound enclosure) nor AC panel was tripped?

Aug 17, 2010
Hunter 410 Dover NH
Are you sure the generator is putting out AC? That would be the first place to check as there were no tripped breakers.

Oct 26, 2010
Hunter 40.5 Beaufort, SC
Are you sure the generator is putting out AC? That would be the first place to check as there were no tripped breakers.
There should be a "reset" button on the Nextgen. I believe its a "red" button and is the output breaker directly on the Generator itself.

If you reset this and it trips again then you need to figure out what the problem is before you reset it again. We used to have a rule in the Navy - you can reset a breaker one time but if it trips again then something is definitely wrong and fix it. Was anything else running like an AirCon unit, wife's turbo hair dryer, etc. What is the size of your Nextgen? I can't imagine a battery charger being a large enough load to trip it on overload by itself.

Mar 20, 2004
Hunter 356 and 216 Portland, ME
As Smoky73 said, look for an output breaker on the nextgen. If no one else has any ideas, look online or contact nextgen.