Fender covers - good or bad?

Jul 7, 2004
Hunter 30T Cheney, KS
I'm putting together my Christmas wish list. It's that or expect a new tie or something.
Anyway, I'm considering a couple fender covers. They are touted to silence the fender rubbing while trying to sleep, and prevent marring the hull. The first point I can accept. I question the second. Couldn't they trap dirt and abrade the hull? How often would they need to be rinsed out? IOW, are they worth the money?

JRacer

Aug 9, 2011
Beneteau 310 Cheney KS (Wichita)
I've been using them for several years. They do eliminate the plastic noise. They should be rinsed off periodically. And, in my case, some of them are worn through and ready for replacement. Some of the others are just sun faded. Probably got 3-4 seasons out of them. That said, I'm a tight fit in the slip so some (the ones wearing out) are in tight contact with the slip and boat whenever we are in the slip and take a lot of abuse.

The ones I use are the fleece material.

Last edited:
Apr 8, 2010
Ericson Yachts Olson 34 28400 Portland OR
All of the boats in my YC with spendy LPU paint jobs use them. They do seem to protect the finish. Washing fender covers is easier than refinishing or buffing out the boat, strictly IMHO.

Nov 8, 2010
Beneteau First 36.7 & 260 Minneapolis MN & Bayfield WI
Use them on Kestrel, which has a Flag Blue Imron painted hull. While not perfect, they are much better at not leaving marks on the paint. In particular, the while plastic rub marks bare fenders can give.

Jul 29, 2017
Catalina 380 Los Angeles
The Admiral just finished making fender covers per instructional video from the Sailrite folks. They look snappy, are easy to fabricate and the fabric is pretty neat. I'm thinking an occasional rinse to keep the dirt levels down will do wonders. I'll try to take some photos this weekend and post next week.

Gunni

Mar 16, 2010
Beneteau 411 Oceanis Annapolis